Arcade Site Stats Nov-Dec 07

3 12 2007

This is the first in a series of monthly site statistics reviews where I’ll be taking a look at FingerMonkey.net visitor activity and hopefully seeing a steady growth. It will be a chance to reflect on the strengths and weaknesses of the site and an opportunity for readers to get first hand insight into the reality of developing a flash arcade from the bottom up.

This first series of stats is for the period of the 2nd of November to the 2nd of December 2007. I have included screenshots from google analytics, a must have free analytics tool for any serious webmaster. I will mark up some thoughts on each screenshot and then leave it open for reader comments and analysis on anything I have overlooked or misread, please let me know if there are other areas of site statistics that you’d be interested in viewing.

I should also point out that while google analytics is a rigorous piece of software that tells me everything about my visitors right down to what colour their underwear is, I recognize that statistics are really only an indication of a site’s trends and cannot be substitutes for the real markers of esteem: public opinion. It’s very easy to focus solely on stats as a means to assessing how successful a site is. To apply this approach alone would, in my opinion, be a mistake. So take it with a pinch of salt!

Dashboard View (click image to see large version)

stats-small-nov-dec-07.gif

Rather than go through all the stats step by step, I’ll let you look at them for yourselves and I’ll only comment on the parts that I find significant. So in this overview what strikes me most is two things. First of all the obvious and gradual increase in visitors to the site over the one month period (please bear in mind that this is FingerMonkey’s first month in existence!) from 2 unique visits on Nov 2nd to 28 on Dec 2nd.

The second thing that I find interesting is the average time spent on site which amounts to about 13 minutes. 13 minutes in web time is actually quite long and I’m surprised, it means that users are clearly getting stuck into some gaming. What I’d be interested to find out is whether by lifting the current 50 token limit (5 tokens per game play) on unregistered visitors, I’d see an increase in time spent on the site. Then to find out whether more time spend playing mean more chance of clicking on ads and thus more revenue. This is something I’m going to experiment with.

Traffic Sources View (click image to see large version)

traffic-sources-small-nov-d.gif

Right, so here we have a breakdown of sources of traffic of which nearly half is being generated by search engines (Google: 127 visits | Yahoo: 31 visits) and nearly a third by referring sites. Top referring sites are the two main arcade forums I frequent: Talk Arcades and ArcadeWebmasters. Other points of interest are search engine keywords. The words ‘Finger Monkey’ have the most searches which is a very good sign since it means that at least some of those 65 will have been people who remembered the name of the arcade. Getting the name and the image of the arcade into visitors minds is crucial to nurture returning and loyal visitors.

That’s it for this month. Next month I’ll be able to begin a few early comparisons. Stats will get more and more interesting as time goes by, but also more complex.
Visit FingerMonkey.net for some free flash gamer madness!

Actions

Information

One response

17 04 2008
The Link Experiment (Part 3) « The FingerMonkey Flash Arcade Blog

[…] me start with the good news. Traffic stats for the FingerMonkey arcade are up since the last count in December last year. They have increased from an average of 30 uniques per day in December 2007 […]

Leave a Reply

