Building a WordPress games arcade Part 4

5 05 2008

Welcome to part 4 in this series on building a WordPress flash games arcade. So far I’ve covered the concept and ideas behind the project in part 1, outlined the research and components to build the arcade in part 2, gave you a whole preview of the design process in part 3 and now in part 4, in keeping with my promise, I’m going to show you the beta (more like alpha) version of my little baby 🙂

This whole experiment has moved quite quickly, perhaps too quickly to deliver a polished product and sadly that’s not what I can offer with this first iteration of the site. My haste is reflected in the numerous bugs and pending features that you’ll see in the arcade, but that’s all part of the next stage and I’m prepared to take it step by step.

This whole experiment has been about the creation process, proving to myself that I could build an arcade out of WordPress desipite my amateur coding and design skills. I’ve learnt a hell of a lot in a short amount of time and I hope some of you have found it interesting.

What I’d like to happen next is to start ironing out the flaws and for that I need your help. So if there are any kind souls out there, particularly with WordPress knowledge, but that’s not a necessity, who’d be willing to lend a hand and point out the bugs and ideally offer some advice on solving them, I’d be very very grateful.

So here goes. Ladies and Gentleman it’s my great pleasure to bring you the birth of a new WordPress arcade (drum roll):

Craverz.com!!

Craverz.com

Visit FingerMonkey.net for some free flash gamer madness!

Actions

Information

10 responses

6 05 2008
Ray

I have been reading you series on creating an arcade with WordPress. It interesting that I found you as I was looking into doing the same thing. I had a domain that I used for various things but finally got tired of creating different sites so I made it an arcade site using wordpress and I nice theme I found.

I have used arcade scripts for arcade and found them to be very inflexible, and all the same. I did buy the Elements theme and will be using it for a very niche arcade sometime soon.

I really like your arcade it does stand above all the other boring ones out there.

Keep up the great posts and good luck with your arcade.

Regards

6 05 2008
fingermonkey

Hi Ray, Thanks very much for the feedback. Brainnoodle looks cool. I’ll have to start a blogroll with WordPress powered game sites.

6 05 2008
RussianMafia

Wow! That awesome! Really good feel of your site…bigger pix makes the games more special. So tired of arcades using tiny pix. Now I gonna make my own arcade based on your advices. Thx so much!! GOod luck!

6 05 2008
fingermonkey

@RussianMafia: Hope you’re not the real Russian Mafia:) But thanks for the kind words anyway. Drop me a link to your site when it’s up, I’d be interested to see what you come up with.

6 05 2008
Andy

Wow, that looks great!

It looks very unique, I like it. It’s very easy to use.

Does it take a lot of effort to add in new games?

6 05 2008
fingermonkey

Hey Andy, thanks for stopping by. It’s actually not too difficult to add games. Each game entry is a WordPress post, the description and controls forms the body of the post. The thumbnail image is placed in the excerpt and the rest is just some custom fields.

8 05 2008
kiviniar

You are getting a post tonight, thanks for the great tutorial and some of my issues have been resolved after reading your posts.

WP power for me too, have a script but WP seems so comfortable 🙂

8 05 2008
fingermonkey

Hi Kiviniar,

Thanks very much ineed. Please do post the link to your WordPress arcade. I’m making a collection that I’ll soon publish in a new post and a new sidebar blogroll category. Same goes for anyone else reading this comment.

Cheers.

16 05 2008
Sunil Patel

Wow! This site looks a lot better than the ad-infested flash arcades you see everywhere. The site is also clean and very easy to navigate. Well done!

16 05 2008
fingermonkey

@Sunil: Thanks for the support, really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

