Webmaster Resources: Branding Part 1

20 05 2008

Welcome to the first video in a new series called ‘Webmaster Resources‘. These videos will be addressing particular themes related to building and enhancing flash arcade sites. In this first video I embark on a series that deals with Branding. Branding is a huge subject with multiple facets so I’ll be devoting 3 or 4 videos to the topic.

This first video takes a quick look at approaching branding through images. It provides a series of links to free resources and all the links are provided below. Feel free to add further resources relevant to this video and any feedback or ideas in the comment section. Thanks for watching.

Vodpod videos no longer available. from www.vimeo.com

References mentioned in the video

Visit FingerMonkey.net for some free flash gamer madness!

Actions

Information

8 responses

20 05 2008
Dingo

Hi

I don’t know why, but your page is not loading correctly in IE7.

And if you want I can suggest 2 more links to your list:

http://www.coolvectors.com and http://www.dapino-colada.nl

Cheers

20 05 2008
fingermonkey

Hi Dingo,

Thanks for dropping by. I think the IE7 issue was to do with an open ‘span’ element in one of the posts. Hopefully that’s sorted now. I have been having some trouble with IE7 and Vimeo videos. They don’t seem to work as fast as with Firefox but I hear that Vimeo is working to address that problem.

Thanks for the links. Please do add hyperlinks so that people can access them straight from your comment section. I’ll go ahead and make them clickable for this time.

20 05 2008
Sunil Patel

Woah!! Has the page changed theme? I’m not so keen on this one, but I’m sure it’ll grow on me…

21 05 2008
fingermonkey

@Sunil: it did change for a while, but like yourself, not many people liked it so I took heed and changed it back 🙂

21 05 2008
Andy

Aww, I liked the previous theme 🙂
I like wide layouts ^^

22 05 2008
fingermonkey

@Andy yeah I like wide designs too, but I do think the last one was too dark. One of the issues with having a blog on WordPress.com is that unless you pay to unlock the CSS you’re stuck with some basic layout choices.

If anyone wants to suggest a better theme amongst the WordPress.com selection, please feel free to do so. At the moment I think this theme is the lesser evil.

22 05 2008
Sunil Patel

If you hosted the blog on your own domain/hosting then you don’t have to pay to unlock the css, and you can edit it as much as you like. Maybe that could be a good alternative?

22 05 2008
fingermonkey

@Sunil, thanks for the input. I have thought about going the self-hosted route, but time is the real issue right now, and so for the sake of convenience I’ve decided to stick with this layout for now. It does mean that videos get reduced in size but I’ll provide a link to the Vimeo channel with each new video, that way there’s an option to see them in a larger size.

Leave a Reply

