General Update

28 05 2008

I’ve been away for a while working on a couple of projects. I’m now about to go on vacation for a while too so there won’t be much action around here until mid-June. But I’m sure many of you will know that arcades are seasonal beasts. There are high seasons and low seasons. The highs tend to be in the colder months and during school term time (kid are by far the biggest arcade audience) whilst the Easter break and summer vacation tends to be down time. Summer is a good time to rebuild your arcade, launch new projects and get everything up and ready for September.

That being said, my WordPress arcade, http://www.craverz.com is doing really well right now and has broken the 500 unique visitors per day mark. Given that I’ve spent nothing on advertising this site and that it’s only been around for a little more than a month, I think that’s a pretty good average. I’m hoping that will continue to grow into the 1000s within the next few months. I’m noticing an interesting trend in terms of traffic sources. 95% of my traffic is organic and comes from search engines. The main search engine keyword for my site is the site’s name itself ‘Craverz’. This confirms my point about the importance of names in branding. I get a lot of ‘cravorz’ as well but have cornered that leek by snapping up cravorz.com!

On different note, I have one more usability review waiting in the Review My Arcade section. I’ll try and find time to do that before I go away. As for the webmaster resource video series, that will still be happening, I’ll continue doing those videos after my break. Thanks to all those who’ve been reading this blog so far and if you want to know when I’m back you can sign up to the RSS feed! Have a great summer all. See you soon.

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 05 2008
Sunil Patel

Have a good vacation, and congrats on passing the 500 mark!

29 05 2008
Games' Cut

“On different note, I have one more usability review waiting in the Review My Arcade section. I’ll try and find time to do that before I go away.”

I hope your talking about mine? 😀

30 05 2008
Games' Cut

unfortunately, our servers got hit by lightning last night 😐

31 05 2008
Games' Cut

were back

Leave a Reply

